Journalists across the country, under the umbrella of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) have elected new set of leaders to pilot the affairs of the union for another three years.

DAILY POST reports that the National President of NUJ, Chris Isiguzo has been returned unopposed for another term in office.

Isiguzo was first elected at the 6th triennial delegates conference of the union in Abeokuta in 2018.

Isiguzo emerged as the President of the union for another three years in office during the 7th delegates conference of the union which was held in Umuahia, Abia State.

The election was witnessed by three former Presidents of NUJ, representatives of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity and the Deputy National President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Joe Ajaero.

Isiguzo got 665 votes from 704 voters accredited for the election, while his opponent, Yusuf Idris polled 15 votes, despite the fact that Idris had earlier stepped down.

22 votes were declared invalid.

Chairman of the National Credentials Committee, Garba Muhammad declared Isiguzo winner of the election.

Other national officers who emerged unopposed include Yahya Al-hassan who emerged as Deputy National President and a former Vice President of B-Zone and ex-Ondo NUJ Chairman, Barrister Dele Atunbi of NTA, Abuja elected unopposed as National Treasurer.

Others are Samuel Dada of LTV, Lagos who emerged unopposed as the National Financial Secretary and Ladi Emmanuel who is now the new National Internal Auditor.

Our correspondent gathered that 6 Zonal Vice Presidents and Zonal Secretaries were also elected at the conference.

ALSO READ  No Shortcut To Wealth – EFCC Warns Students

A former Ekiti NUJ Secretary/Vice Chairman Ronke Samo of NOA Chapel from Ekiti State was returned as the First female Vice President of B-Zone Southwest, while Abdulrasaq Alege emerged as B-Zone Secretary.

Insecurity: Government must rise to challenges – NUJ

Journalists elect NUJ new national officers

Subscribe To Newsletter

Receive top breaking news, events, ideas, and more!

Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.